promoting cultural heritage and conservation

Heatwave Rome: Our top 5 tips to cooling off in the summer

Welcome to Rome in the summer. One word: hot. And imagine working in the dirt eight hours a day every day under a full sun.  Since we’re always thinking about the well-being of our students, we’ve come up with five fool-proof tips to cooling down during the urban heat. If you think you (or anyone you know) will break from Rome’s rising mercury, here’s how we do it:

  1. Grattachecca(grah-tah-KEK-ah) 
    • This is Italian shaved ice– aka the real deal. Literally shaved by hand on the spot from a big block of ice, grattachecca is a Roman summer tradition where you get to pick the fruit syrups and fresh fruit to pour into the hand-shaven ice. Grattacheccha stands are street-side kiosks, and sometimes are near the summer sliced watermelon pop-ups. Our favorites include:
  2.  Ostia Beach
    • Since our excavation is at Ostia Antica, instead of saying “take a hike”, we tell our students to hit the beach. A half-hour local train from Rome (on the same line as heading to our dig site), is Ostia beach- a public beach with restaurants, activities and social life.  For your €1.50 ATAC ticket, hop on Roma-Lido “trenino” (little train) found at the local station adjacent to the Piramide (Metro B) metro. Destination:  Lido Centro.
  3.  Use a big nose
    • That’s right, those fountains you see on the streets that are constantly running are called “nasoni,” big noses, and they are a really great way to keep cool and hydrated as you explore the city. The water is cold, clean and delicious, coming from a deep underground spring.  According to the Comune di Roma, the nasoni run constantly in order to keep the system clean and flushed out.  Our tip to taking a sip? Put your finger over the main spigot to block it and water will arc out of the small hole on top. Or, you can use them to fill your water bottle without paying outrageous tourist prices for water bottles at the coffee bars! Newsflash: the Comune di Roma is offering re-useable water bottles sold for €2 at local tourist information points (PIT). 
  4. Villa Borghese 

    • Rome’s second largest park with over 140 acres of greenery is the perfect respite from a hot day in the sun. You can walk up from the stairs off of Piazza del Popolo, take a paddleboat, peddle around on a group bike, rollerblade or run under the sprinklers.
  5. Gelato
    • Saving the best for last, don’t forget to sample Roman gelato, which is definitely NOT ice cream. Gelato uses more whole milk and less cream, so it has a lower fat content, and it contains less air so it’s denser which provides a more intense flavor. Some of our favorite gelato shops are*:
*Pop onto Parlafood for Katie Parla’s au courant and every growing gelato reviews. We’re so impressed with how she talks gelato, we think a flavor should be named after her!
16 responses

  1. Pingback: Tips to Surviving a Roman Summer | American Institute for Roman Culture

  2. excellent points altogether, you just won a brand new reader.
    What could you recommend in regards to your publish
    that you simply made a few days in the past? Any sure?

    July 2, 2013 at 9:09 pm

  3. Tremendous things here. I am very satisfied to see your post.
    Thank you a lot and I’m looking ahead to touch you. Will you please drop me a mail?

    July 3, 2013 at 7:20 pm

  4. This is very fascinating, You’re an excessively skilled blogger. I have joined your feed and look forward to in quest of more of your fantastic post. Additionally, I’ve shared your
    web site in my social networks

    July 4, 2013 at 9:20 pm

  5. It’s going to be ending of mine day, except before ending I am reading this great article to increase my know-how.

    July 5, 2013 at 5:24 am

  6. This is my first time visit at here and i am truly happy to read everthing at single place.

    July 5, 2013 at 9:39 am

  7. I have an excited analytical vision meant for details
    and can anticipate complications before these people take place.

    July 6, 2013 at 1:55 pm

  8. I wanted to thank you for this fantastic read!! I definitely enjoyed every bit of it.
    I’ve got you book marked to look at new stuff you post…

    July 9, 2013 at 1:56 am

  9. naturally like your web-site however you need to test the
    spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling
    problems and I in finding it very troublesome to tell the truth however I will certainly come again again.

    July 12, 2013 at 4:59 am

  10. Hello, after reading this awesome post i am as well happy to share my knowledge here with friends.

    July 12, 2013 at 7:24 pm

  11. Hello colleagues, good piece of writing and pleasant arguments commented
    at this place, I am actually enjoying by these.

    July 14, 2013 at 3:21 am

  12. Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an extremely long comment but after I clicked submit my comment
    didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over
    again. Anyways, just wanted to say excellent blog!

    July 15, 2013 at 6:01 pm

  13. I have been exploring for a little bit for any high quality articles or blog posts in this sort of house .
    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this website.
    Studying this information So i’m happy to show that I have a very excellent uncanny feeling I came upon exactly what I needed. I such a lot unquestionably will make sure to do not disregard this website and provides it a glance on a continuing basis.

    July 16, 2013 at 2:29 am

  14. I’m gone to tell my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this webpage on regular basis to take updated from newest news update.

    July 16, 2013 at 3:50 am

  15. Very nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I have truly loved surfing around your
    weblog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I am hoping you write again very soon!

    July 16, 2013 at 5:43 pm

  16. I appreciate the info on your websites. Cheers!

    July 18, 2013 at 7:35 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,560 other followers