promoting cultural heritage and conservation

Guest Blog #1 – Anna

Hi guys, Anna here.

You may remember me as the only person who has posted an introduction on the dig’s Facebook group. Awkward. (I know a couple people have posted about themselves on the blog – Hi Jane and Michael!)

Since it’s early days yet and my preparations so far have been painting my new handpick pink to match my trowel (that’s right pink trowel – you’re jealous, admit it) I’ve decided that I’d write about my experience from the dig I did last summer in the interest of further telling you about myself – with the aim to inspire you to tell yourselves about me!

In a similar vein to the last blog post I’ve decided to discuss dig friendship.

As I said, having been on a dig last summer I know for a fact that even if you want to keep to yourself – it’s impossible. Everyone is all up in everyone’s business. A trench is not that big!

Of course this can be frustrating at times – like when you’re still trying to work out a way to ask that guy from the trench next to yours if he wants to grab a beer after work without six people coming along; or when that girl will not stop belting out themes from musicals (it happens).

But mostly it’s awesome – being in the trench together all day makes everyone sunbaked and way too open with each other (bodily functions were often a fascinating topic …) Hilarity always ensues. I learned a lot about everyone’s favourite foods (we cooked meals together), past relationships (and present ones), amusing drinking experiences (we then made new ones), I shaved someone’s head (or rather supervised a drunk colleague shaving someone’s head), shared bottles of wine with straws, shared bad decisions and shared secrets (which then became not-so-secret).

I know that the internet is no substitute for actually meeting someone, but you can’t tell me that you’re not curious about the people you’re going to spend six weeks of your summer with – I know I am!

So, in the interest of being sociable I’d love if you’d leave a comment with a lil’ introduction – just something about yourself – doesn’t have to be related to academics or archaeology. Tell us how much you love David Bowie; about your passion for unicorn stickers; your pet peeve about noisy eaters; your addiction to knitting …

… oh wait that’s just me

So divulge your secrets! It’s only a matter of time (and boredom)

7 responses

  1. Jane Holmstrom

    Hello!! Thanks for being oh so brave to post! You had me at pink. I am pretty jealous actually. I can’t wait to meet everyone and see who I will be living with. As far as digs go….I haven’t gotten to play in the dirt since I was like 5 years old rolling my toy cars and trucks around on our dirt driveway. Ahhh the good ole days…when nothing was better than getting dirty and making mud pies. LOL. Kinda like walking up hill to school both ways in 6 feet of snow? I am probably one of the older ones here, but that means I have some good stories for the trench…(or at a side walk cafe over vino)🙂 I can’t wait to meet everyone and see who I will be living with. I also can’t wait for some of my little mini weekend getaways I want to take….maybe some of you will want to come with?? I am excited to refresh my knowledge of Italian…it has gotten a bit rusty since my last trip, unfortunately. I am NOT looking forward to the million hour plane ride. I did notice a couple others on the same flight as me….maybe we can get acquainted at the airport before the flight? Nothing is more lonely than a 9 hour flight alone…than say a 10 hour one.🙂
    Well…off to work I go…the count down to Rome has already begun for me.

    April 22, 2011 at 5:11 am

    • Jane Holmstrom

      PS. I am awesome at proof reading lol. I guess that just shows that i really AM pumped to meet every one. LOL.

      April 22, 2011 at 5:12 am

    • Wooo! Nothing is better than people who speak a little Italian, or are at least trying to learn! : )

      April 25, 2011 at 9:34 pm

  2. Allene Seet

    Hello Anna!

    I’m about to send in my guest blog, but I’d figure I’d give a bit of an introduction here too.

    I think my favorite Bowie song would have to be Rebel. It reminds me of Chicago during college (now I’m getting all nsotalgic…). I also have an odd fondness for 80’s pop…I think this is because of the cafe I worked at last summer. The owner only let us listen to smooth jazz and soft rock, but whenever he’d leave I’d switch it to 80’s and dance while washing the dishes or making coffee.

    One of my favorite authors is definitely Hemingway. I read a lot of poetry too- Kenneth Koch, Jane Kenyon, Anne Carson.

    I am also WAY too excited for this summer.

    April 24, 2011 at 6:15 am

    • Hemingway? Intriguing. When you get here you’ll have to talk to me about why you love him. I read “For Whom the Bell Tolls” simply because my hopeless-romantic friend told me how much he loved it…and I didn’t like it at all. Haha. Thus I’m always interested to hear about how Hemingway can be enjoyed.

      April 25, 2011 at 9:33 pm

  3. Kristen Kido

    Hi Anna! and Jane! and Allene!

    I’m Kristen, and I’m really, really happy to see lots of exclamation points and enthusiasm for our 6 weeks together in Ostia! I couldn’t be more excited myself. I’m really jazzed to meet everyone as well. So here’s a little bit about me:

    I’m so happy someone is bringing a pink trowel, because I’m dying to buy these pink steel-toed boots I saw. Nice.

    I graduated from UCLA in ’08 (so I might be one of the older ones on the dig as well?). I’m currently working at the Getty Villa in Malibu, so I’m steeped in the study of antiquities. But this will be my first time on a dig, and, again, I couldn’t be more excited.

    I juuuust might be the one belting out those musical numbers that Anna mentioned… but I’ll keep it under control.

    Jane, I’m also eager to brush up on my Italian AND do some serious weekend traveling. In fact, if anyone else is interested, I was thinking of starting an email chain so we can plan our trips, and maybe even find some places to stay, etc. so we’re ready when we get there. Anyone interested? Just email me at kkido512 [at] gmail.

    May 14, 2011 at 1:05 am

  4. Sarah Stefan

    Hi everybody!

    I can’t wait to graduate high school- I’m leaving for Rome the day after graduation! After this awesome experience, I am off to William & Mary. I suppose I am the youngest of the bunch. BYW- my favorite Bowie song… Changes. I love to read, write, and do other nerdy things.
    Who are your favorite actors/actresses? Mine are Jimmy Stewart and Audrey Hepburn.
    I’m excited to get to know you guys!

    May 23, 2011 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

